Why would I ever write in C?

I’ve made computers do tricks in both C/C++ and Python for many years now. For the past few years I’ve written exclusively in Python for both work and play. I recently went back to a personal project to rewrite it in C++ and, for the first time in my life, thought, “Why would I ever write in C?”

I have two personal projects (A note taker/reference manager and a photo organizer) that I’ve been working on for over a decade now. I started both in C++ using the QT widget library. I moved the note taker to Ruby (on-rails, I had my browser-as-GUI phase) then to Python (bottle is an amazing and lightweight web framework, you should try it) and then I abandoned it in favor of paper and pencil (but I don’t do much manuscript writing anymore, which accounts for me not needing a reference manager and making do with paper notes).

The photo organizer I made two versions of in C++ using QT, and then I moved it to Python. I was quite happy with the Python version, but I decided I wanted some changes, and it seemed to be a new decade, so I started to itch to move it back into C++. QT had changed a lot since 2012 (which I think was the last time I messed with the C++/QT version of my photo organizer). There were a lot of new bells and whistles and I got excited and I wanted to sit down and see what I could do.

I wanted to start of with a library of core functions and an associated test suite. In Python, this kind of code is very easy to set up: I put the library in a source directory and the tests in a directory marked ‘tests’ and use nosetests to automatically discover and run them. The tests come about organically as short pieces of code I write in the REPL to test newly added features that smoothly build up the module

The first thing I realized is that I missed the REPL. For twenty years I had done without a REPL. I would code up a skeleton of an application, craft the makefile, have function stubs and then just make sure it compiled. I would then add functionality by fleshing out the stubs and adding new functions, refactoring into new files and so on. But now, just the thought of spending hours, perhaps days, setting everything up without any feedback, raised a barrier. It made things not fun. It was WORK! This is not a good thing for a project done in spare time, for enjoyment.

The next thing I missed were nosetests. The scene for unit tests is now much better for C++ and QT has it’s own little framework for writing and running tests. But they all look so CLUNKY! You have to declare a class, then include a header file, then make an application out of that. You have to tediously add every test separately, then add every function separately, then add every test case.

I guess, even with IDEs like QT Creator, there was too much boilerplate, too much gap between me writing some code and seeing what it did. The compile cycle didn’t help. Doxygen sounded OK, but there was no smile on my face when I went to download it and see how I would be using it in my project.

8085-Microprocessor-Kit

My first introduction to computers was via BASIC, then Pascal. I then went to C and C++. I had a class in 8085 assembly (We used kits packaged in neat wooden boxes. I enjoyed keying in the program and the data and then hitting go. My favorite project had been to write an infinite precision division program. I had seen Apollo 13 a few years back, and those kits and their interfaces reminded me of the DSKY).

My introduction to proper C++ was in a data structures and algorithms class, and the height of my C++ programming adventures was in a computer graphics class where I made animations out of particles in OpenGL and a kind of fly through of a complex scene. These were done on SGIs O2 machines, at the Indian Institute of Science’s Super Computer Center, where I would retire early each evening after dinner, because the O2 machines were limited in number and the cubicles would be quickly occupied.

I say all this, perhaps in a subconscious attempt to convince you that I’m not totally inexperienced in programming and do indeed intrinsically enjoy programming computers and understanding the art of programming computers, and don’t view it merely as a means to an end, which is to make these amazing calculating machines do clever tricks.

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 12.19.07 AM

But I think Python has spoiled me for ever in terms of the manner in which I enjoy computers. Writing C/C++ has become work. It’s something I would do wearing a suit and tie (not that I wear a suit and tie at work – which should tell you something). It’s something that I would do with a serious demeanor and a feeling, I imagine, mental patients have when wearing a straightjacket.

Boilerplate, boilerplate everywhere I look. Don’t smile. The doctors will take you away to the padded room. Better to look serious and keep your head down.

Performance you say? Well, to be honest, there are very few parts of my code where I need “C like” speed. And where I do, well, I can use CFFI, or more likely, I use Cython. It looks a little ugly, but hey, I have to write so little of it. The only annoying thing is inspecting the generated C code to make sure it’s getting rid of the dynamic Python calls.

Oh, yeah, pip install has spoiled me too. I ain’t chasing down your exotic library to read EXIF tag data in photo files. I haven’t got that kind of time. But I do have time to type pip install.

So, perhaps the only caveat I would add, in closing, is to say, the full title of this post should be “Why would I ever write in C for fun?”

3 thoughts on “Why would I ever write in C?

  1. I have a similar level of experience to you, started on z80 back in the 80s.. my question to you would be ‘Why would you ever use a non-managed language?’ – surely by now, unless you are writing a graphics card driver, or positioning trust nozzles on a landing craft, you would be happier/better off in a managed language?

  2. Pingback: Rip Van C++ | Kaushik Ghose

Leave a Reply

