Rip Van C++

After a long hiatus, probably about a decade, I once again began coding in C++. It wasn’t hard to get back into the stride but I am surprised at how different modern C++ is, and how pleasurable it is to write. In no particular order here are the things that surprised me.

No more “this->” in class functions. I discovered this by accident when I forgot to add the “this->” qualifier in front of an instance variable and the code still compiled. I’m not sure if I like this – but it sure as hell is convenient.

CATCH. Man! One of my big draws for Python is how rapidly I can set up tests and run them. It basically made parallel testing and development (I’m sure the kids have some kind of cool name for it nowadays) possible for me. I remember with agony how it was to setup a test suite for C++ code. CATCH makes it almost as easy to write tests for C++. And you can break into the debugger. I think this settled the matter for me.

std::random. No more hanging out in dark alleys, setting up rendezvous with shady characters to get your random numbers. It’s right there, in the standard library! And you can seed it and everything!

CMAKE! Felix sent me a small self contained example, sat with me for a few minutes and that was enough to get me up and running. I do NOT miss creating makefiles by hand. Cmake appears to be very logical.

std::threads – I haven’t actually used this yet, but after looking through several examples it’s simplicity rivals that of Python’s multiprocessing pool. We’ve come a long way baby.

Contrary to what you might think, I’m not that excited by the auto keyword or by the (optional) funky new way you can write loops. I still have to get used to the lambda syntax – I think Python gets it just right – straight and simple.

Update: OK, I really like the:

for(auto x : <some collection>) {
   // process x
}

syntax. It’s pretty slick.

I was also amused by the difference between, I guess you would call it culture, for C++ and Python. I was looking for a logo for this post and, firstly, did not really find an official one, and secondly, landed on the standards page:

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 6.11.02 AM

which stands in contrast to the first hit for “Python” which is the official one stop shop for all your Python needs:

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 6.10.48 AM

Interestingly, not six months ago, I think I took a stab at getting back into C++, for a personal project, I think. And I had an adverse reaction. Nothing has really changed with C++ since then, so I guess this time round I actually stopped to ask for help and my kind colleagues pointed me in the right direction.

 

2 thoughts on “Rip Van C++

  1. Pingback: Starting a project | Kaushik Ghose

  2. Pingback: Starting a project - Tech Geek Eden

Leave a Reply

