Holy $#!* THAT’s a Lisp macro!

Still struggling to understand what’s so special about Lisp, I came across a post linked on lobste.rs, innocuously titled “Hash Table Syntax in Common Lisp“. It had the arcane macro syntax I’d seen in some other examples and I was about to skim past it when I suddenly saw the expression {:key1 => "value1", :key2 => "value2"} being blithely evaluated by the REPL as if it was just any other Lisp expression. I sat there with my mouth slightly open.
 
Lisp, Common Lisp no exception, has a very basic syntax. Everything, and I mean everything, consists of function evaluations, and the evaluations all have the format (fun arg1 arg2 ...) and here was this expression full of braces and commas and odd operators being turned into a common lisp hash table.

There has to be some catch, I thought. It has to be invoked in a special way or something. Turns out, no. You can just paste the macro into the REPL and start using the curly braces notation.

I won’t claim that I “understand” Lisp. I won’t even claim I think Lisp is an amazing language – at this point I’m willing to be shown it is, but I still haven’t thought “Ah! I’m going to be using Lisp instead of Python (or C++) for my next project.” However, seeing this example I can attest that I had that religious feeling that some folks have claimed after studying Lisp. An Oh $#!@ moment, in today’s profaner terms.

And quite suddenly, I was taken back a decade and a half, to my first exposure to TeX and LaTeX. People have done crazy things using TeX, demonstrating that it is a programming language disguised as a typesetting system. The few times I dared to mess with TeX I was really modifying LaTeX macros to improve the style of some document I was working on – most probably procrastinating on my master’s thesis.

Both the effect of this Lisp macro, and it’s general appearance remind me of the terse, somewhat arcane alien, form of LaTeX macros and styles. Both change the syntax of the language you are using to make what you are doing more convenient.

I suppose this is not an accident. Both Lisp and TeX come from an era when people fiddling with computers really liked to get into the guts of everything, understand it and change it to their own personal taste.

Further posters on lobste.rs point out to me that this is a “reader-macro” which operates during parse time, rather than a regular macro, which operates during compile time. All in all, this was a very informative series of comments for me!

Leave a Reply

