CMake and XCode

Oddly enough, though I’ve been working on Macs for eight years now, I haven’t used Xcode a lot and in the past I used Bloodshed C++ and eclipse. I also have fond memories of using vi and make with my IDE being a cluster of four terminals (code, compile, debug and run output, I think they were. Or maybe one was pine). Also, the fondness is perhaps an effect of nostalgia.

Since I’m using CMake I looked around for ways to make XCode work with it. CMake will generate an xcode project with the command -G XCode but the structure of this project looked atrocious and I wondered what I was doing wrong. This post by John Lamp gives some nice details about how and why the generated XCode project is so structured.

One trick I learned (Lamp mentions it but I really paid attention when I watched this video) was to add the header files to the sources list as well, in the CMake project. After I did this the organization of the files in the XCode Project view became more sensiple – XCode knows how to split up header and source files.

Also, before you open up XCode, add the build directory to .gitignore. When XCode tries to manage your versioning, it seems to want to add just about everything to version control by default, and the build directory is an un-holy mess.

Cmake tutorial, slightly easier than the official one.

 

Leave a Reply

