The end result I want is a 4D environment where we can walk around inspecting things in 3D (as is natural for VR) and we use one of the controllers to point in a direction in the 4th dimension and move forwards and backwards.

I am uncertain of both the mathematics and the technology here and so will map out the first few steps.

Mathematics

  1. Slices vs Projections
  2. Simple world: Tesseract
    • simple navigation: fixed location and rotation in 4th dimension
    • restricted 4D navigation: linear motion in 4th dimension
    • general 4D navigation: rotations and motions in all 4 dimensions simultaneously
  3. Complex world: More complex shapes. TODO

My imagination runs out here and I think I need to get to the end of program 2 to have better intuitions of what happens next.

Technology: HTML vs Occulus native (C++/Android)

C++ programming for the Occulus was a rush, but if I can make VR in HTML work for this, then I will first use that so I can move forward with the product, as it were. I’m hoping that the Tesseract experiments will show me if the HTML approach will work. The HTML based approach should be faster and easier with quicker development feedback, as long as I can onboard onto the framework I want to use (A-frame)